Time Trials 2014 Come To An End

And so it ends.... On Tuesday last, week 8 of the 2014 WTC Time Trial Series took place. And we shook it up a little. As the winners of the women's and men's leagues had been confirmed prior to the night, we changed the format from a 16km straight TT to a 1km Hill Climb and a 4km flat out TT in the Tramore Road.

The 1km TT started at the Six Cross Roads roundabout and headed straight up the hill to the next roundabout. The club welcomed Damien Vereker accompanied by the great Martin Kirwan on the tandem bike and they duly blitzed the field in both short races, winning by 12 seconds overall. Well done lads.

In the ladies race, Niamh Cooke held off Ciara McSweeney by 3 seconds on the hill and 5 seconds over the 4km tt. This was excellent racing by both ladies and both richly deserved the valuable prizes presented to them afterwards. Liz Nolan raced well also and has made great progress over the 7 weeks (since week 2) improving her tt time by 1.14 over the period.
In the men's race, it was a savage battle between the fastest men over the 8 weeks. Paul Ogle held a slim 2 second lead after the hill climb but Eoin Lyons burst through his limit to take the 4km by 5 seconds, and therefore winning the night by a margin of 3 seconds. Well done Eoin. This guaranteed Eoin 2nd place in the series overall after Paul and ahead of David Quigley.

Third on the night went to David Connolly who powered his way to a 3rd place finish despite being behind the youthful but strong Cathal Daly and Mark Daly (no relation, and "youthful" was for Cathal!) after the hill climb but Dots lit it up over the 4km tt to take the podium spot.
The "Jim O'Brien challenge" went to the Junior model. Ahead by 1 second after the hill climb, Jim Jnr increased his lead by a further 3 seconds after the 4km tt.

Full times for each Week 8 event and the totals are below;

Name / Hill / 4km / Total / Rank
Liz Nolan 2.41 13:55 10.39 3
Ciara McSweeney 2.18 6.43 9.01 2
Niamh Cooke 2.15 6.38 8.53 1

Name / Hill / 4km / Total / Rank
Mark Williamson 2.17 6.5 9.07 13
Cathal Daly 1.50 5.46 7.36 6
Ronan O Brien 2.12 6.36 8.48 12
Thomas Brown 2.03 6.06 8.09 11
Greg Holden 2.00 5.5 7.50 9
Mark Daly 1.48 5.49 7.37 7
Philip O'Leary 2.08 5.58 8.06 10
Brian Jacob 2.02 5.44 7.46 8
David Connolly 1.50 5.24 7.14 3
Jim O'Brien (Jnr) 1.54 5.31 7.25 4
Jim O'Brien (not junior) 1.55 5.34 7.29 5
Eoin Lyons 1.42 5.08 6.50 1
Paul Ogle 1.40 5.13 6.53 2

Thanks to David for marshaling.

At the elaborate prize giving ceremony afterwards in the sumptuous surroundings of the Tramore Road where athletes were served substantial amounts of nutritious food and drink, chairman Brian, Secretary Helen & Race Director Emmet presented the individual awards to the many grateful recipients. Full listing below;

Overall Series Winner; Niamh Cooke. 
2nd; Ciara McSweeney
3rd; Elaine Mullan

Fastest Time; Elaine Mullan (27.25)
Biggest Potential Improvement; Evelyn Gillen
Best New Member; Niamh Cooke
Biggest Improvement over the Series; Evelyn Gillen
Weekly winners; Siobhan Kennedy / Niamh Cooke / Elaine Mullan

Overall Series Winner; Paul Ogle
2nd; Eoin Lyons
3rd; David Quigley

Fastest Time; Paul Ogle (22.27)
Biggest Potential Improvement (aka slowest time); Ronan O'Brien
Best New Member; David Quigley
Biggest Improvement over the Series; Eoin Lyons
Weekly winners; Paul Ogle / David Quigley / Martin Kirwan / Eoin Lyons

Tandem Winners; Damien Vereker & Martin Kirwan.

We hope you enjoyed the 8 weeks, hopefully we'll do something similar in 2015. Best of luck to everyone racing for the rest of the Summer.10418528 10152570115872122 728328253140015114 n

Follow Us on TwitterLike Us on Facebook